|1||Why don't users enter rounded numbers in the calculator for the schedules and worksheet?||All dollar amounts entered in the worksheet and schedules are to be entered in exact amounts, including cents. Doing so will ensure consistency in calculations. For example: an amount is entered including cents as 2532.61 rather than 2532 or 2533.|
|2||How do I submit my child support worksheets to the court?||Each court has their own process for submitting child support worksheets and schedules. Some courts have a standing order as to how that court processes child support documentation. The best advice is for you to contact the clerk's office at your local courthouse to find out their process for submission. Georgia Superior Court Clerks' Cooperative Authority.|
|3||What is Rule 24.2A?||Superior Court Rule 24.2A was approved by the Georgia Supreme Court in December 2007. This rule provides for the implementation of uniform multipliers to be used by Georgia Courts. The current version of this rule, as approved by the Georgia Supreme Court, is provided below.|
"Rule 24.2 A" Monthly figures required; week to month multipliers
In all domestic cases in which a conversion of economic data from weekly to monthly must be made, a conversion factor of 4.35 weeks per month shall be used. In calculating monthly income based upon a forty hour work week, hourly salary shall be multiplied by 174 hours."
|4||Where can I find more information about Georgia's Child Support Guidelines?||The Georgia Commission on Child Support website Georgia Commission on Child Support provides helpful information, including access to a copy of the guidelines statute.|
|5||What is Rule 24.2?||The Supreme Court of Georgia approved Superior Court Rule 24.2 in December 2006, which details filing requirements and includes a copy of a Financial Affidavit used in child support actions. The rule is promulgated by the Council of Superior Court Judges. It sets forth the procedure and how to implement the child support guidelines as found in the Georgia Code as O.C.G.A. §19-6-15. The current version of this rule, as approved by the Georgia Supreme Court, is provided below.|
24.2. Financial data required; scheduling and notice of temporary hearing. At the time of filing any action for temporary or permanent child support, alimony, equitable division of property, modification of child support or alimony or attorney's fees, the filing party shall file with the Clerk of Court the affidavit specifying his or her financial circumstances in the form set forth herein and, in cases involving child support, the schedules required by O.C.G.A. §19-6-15 (effective January 1, 2007, as thereafter amended or revised), and shall serve the same upon the opposing party. In protective order actions filed under O.C.G.A. §19-13-1, et. seq. and in other emergency actions, the affidavit and schedules may be filed and served on or before the date of the hearing or at such other time as the court orders, and shall not be required at the time of filing of the action. Notice of the date of any temporary hearing shall be served upon the adverse party at least 15 days before the date of the hearing, unless otherwise ordered by the court. The opposing party shall serve the affidavit specifying his or her financial circumstances in the form set forth herein and the schedules, where applicable, and shall file with the Clerk of Court and exchange this information with the opposing party:
Each party shall submit the proposed worksheet required by O.C.G.A. §19-6-15 (effective January 1, 2007 and as amended or revised thereafter) at the time of hearing or trial.
On the request of either party, and upon good cause shown to the court, the affidavits, worksheets, schedules, and any other financial information may be sealed, upon order of the court.
No social security numbers or account numbers shall be included in any document filed with the Court.
Failure of any party to furnish the above financial information, in the discretion of the court, may subject the offending party to the penalties of contempt and may result in continuance of the hearing until such time as the required financial information is furnished or such other sanctions or remedies deemed appropriate in the court's discretion.
You may view this rule in its entirety on-line at: Legislation Rules
|6||What is the logic for how numbers are rounded in the formulas in the calculator for the worksheet and schedules?||There are several calculations made on both Schedules D and E where division is used to determine each parent's share of a monthly expense. The results of this division can produce answers that go beyond two decimal points following the whole dollar amount. For example, an answer for each parent on a line could be $59.656. In these instances where the answers for both parents round higher, the final rounding could result in a calculation that is off by a penny.|
|7||I printed a page from the user guide and found that the print displayed odd combinations of letters, numbers, and symbols. The printed material was illegible and could not be read. What caused this issue and how can I print a legible copy of the user guide?||This issue has been reported twice but in testing it could not be replicated. The issue appears to be with the Adobe PDF reader. It is recommended that you try a different web browser and if that does not work, try to print the user guide from a different computer.|
|8||Where can individuals go for legal assistance?||To seek an attorney, you may contact your local area Bar Association: Georgia Bar Association for attorney information. You may also contact the State Bar of Georgia at (404) 527-8700 or (800) 334-6865. If you cannot afford a private attorney you may contact your local Legal Aid or Legal Services' office to see if you meet the income requirements for representation. You may visit their website at: Legal Aid or Legal Services.|
|9||I have a Mac Computer. Will I be able to run the online calculator on my Mac?||Yes, you will.|
|10||If I don't know the answer to a calculator technical question, who should I contact?||You may e-mail the Georgia Commission on Child Support at firstname.lastname@example.org. To learn more about the Commission, please visit: Georgia Commission on Child Support. If you have specific questions on your own case, please do not contact the Commission; instead, consult with an attorney or your local Legal Aid or Legal Services office at www.georgialegalaid.org. The Georgia Commission on Child Support has no involvement with individual cases and cannot provide legal advice. If you have an active case with the Division of Child Support Services (DCSS) you may contact the agency directly (844-694-2347) or at their website, Division of Child Support Services.|
|11||How do I correctly apply credit for payments on preexisting child support orders when doing a guideline calculation?.||You must first determine if the order pre-exists the order in the current case. (See the definition for Preexisting Order at O.C.G.A. §19-6-15(a)(18)). If it does, then it is a pre- existing order. Next you must determine if child support is actually being paid. Determine the amount to use as an adjustment to gross income on Schedule B by averaging the current child support that has actually been paid over the prior 12 month period (or a shorter number of months, if the preexisting order was entered less than 12 months ago) and use that monthly average in the calculation.|